Want a job? Be visible on Facebook!

WANT A JOB? BE VISIBLE ON FACEBOOK!

I once considered it a myth or a scary story – that employers actually look at each and every applicant’s Facebook accounts and other social networking pages before they hire. Scary. I was too scared that future employers will see how much of a scatterbrain I actually am, or that my page is too bland and I have no hint of creativity, or that I am too emotional with things that I post on my page – these things might hinder them from putting my resume in the “Hired” pile. My Facebook, Friendster, Twitter, Multiply, LiveJournal, and other web pages might even make them think twice before considering me for a second interview. But now I have learned that instead of fearing it, having a “cyber profile” can actually work to my advantage.
Here’s why. 🙂

Number one. I can furnish and equip these pages of mine with my good works [of art, haha!]. If you don’t already know (err, maybe you don’t), I love to write. I’m in love with writing in blogs, writing short stories, writing about things I’m really passionate about. In these cyber pages, I can put in the entries I’m most proud of, and these articles, stories, essays – you name it – they may get me one step closer to getting hired. If my target employer likes my content, my style, and my passion for writing, surely he or she will consider and re-consider (forever and ever!) that the job be given to me. Yeay! 🙂

Number two. I can show my true personality without getting attacked by forces of the unknown. (Huh? That made me stop, too!) Because I have the sole control over these pages, I can easily shift away from things that I consider will be negative or detrimental to my online personality. I can load my “online self” with things that really matter to me, and avoid the things that I do not want to deal with. I have the control, I have the power. 🙂 I can be as aggressive as I want to be, or I can be as mushy-lushy, soft-y type of person (the two extremes of my personality) without dealing with the general public. I can control my world. And I can show my true personality without fear of being judged (too quickly). 🙂

Number three. Well, at least they’d know that I know how to use the computer and the internet. 🙂 That’s a plus, eh? 🙂

Hmmm. I guess I just really have to remember what my other classmates have already posted on their respective blogs. In dealing with cyber pages and social networking sites, I must be very extra careful with the things that I share publicly.

For example, I will not post nasty remarks or comments about my co-workers, and worse- about my boss or future employer, or about the company I’m applying in, right?

Facebook can really be helpful – it’s just that now, it’s still kind of a distraction for students like me. 🙂

In the future, I will already have learned that Facebook and other social networking sites or the New Social Media in general – are a means for getting that headstart to being hired.

Oh no, now I’m getting WAY too excited for my first job hunt! 🙂

Better recall the passwords for all those online pages and start updating them STAT!

This entry was posted in Facebook, Internet and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Want a job? Be visible on Facebook!

  1. commania says:

    Hi Jeca! 😀

    I had my internship in an HR Department and based on experience, my boss was not really into looking at the Facebook or any other accounts of the applicants. She’s too busy to do that knowing that she is the only one in the HR department. I was such a blessing to her! 😀 😀 😀

    Though she was not into SNS that much, a specific instance came on day in the company when she became furious about a certain applicant who made a somewhat cover letter in his resume and used jejemonic laugh! Her world suddenly shook hard! She had me research about the man and had me look for the contact details of the school where he graduated from. By then, I was not able to think about finding the man on Facebook but this incident made me realize that some mistakes in your application could stop the world of a very busy person just to correct you.

    The accessibility of SNS is of great advantage to employers. Resumes tell a lot about a person, but a PERSONAL site wherein you keep yourself and other people updated about the happenings of your life tell so much more. You’re true in stating that we have to use these things for our advantage. It’s a matter of manipulating them the right way. 😀

  2. Karen says:

    Roanne’s correct! 🙂 I had my first internship in the HR dept of Primer Group of Companies, and they don’t actually check the digital footprints of their applicants. They still use the traditional ways of knowing more about their applicants through character references, and recommendations.

    We could then say that in the Philippines checking an applicant’s digital footprints is still not that widely practiced. Maybe, it’s our generation that would start that trend in the workplace. Whew, that thought excites me! I want to be part of the HR team, and I can’t wait to check applicants’ blogs, Facebook profiles, Twitter updates, and Friendster profile pictures! Hahaha.

  3. Yes jeca, we should be responsible with our own digital footprint but as we learned, online reputation is hard to manage. We’ve had an activity in class regarding this issue right (though we don’t belong on the same class)? If we fail to handle every detail of our digital footprint (and I’m sure we will), we should have at least a reason to tell to our employer. That now goes to knowing the WHYs of your actions most especially online. We should have developed a disciplined mind when handling NSM for that will help us be respnsible with everything that we do online. Everything you post online is permanent, you may be able to delete it but the people who have seen it, because of the sharability features of NSM, might have saved a screenshot of it in their computers and in their minds. 🙂

Leave a Reply

