A New Trick

🙂

They say you cannot teach an old dog new tricks, but we know that there was also somebody who said it’s also never too late to learn.

Research?

My mom has recently been asking me to teach her how to use the Internet. She has never been a fan. (I’m not comparing her to a dog, okay? That was a metaphor! 🙂 ) She asks that I “research” every imaginable topic under the sun, ranging from news and current events, to the latest news and gossip about celebrities, up to the holidays in the Philippines. I’d be an obedient daughter and follow without complaint ( 🙂 ) but I get so busy sometimes that I can no longer accommodate her requests. This spurred an idea that I teach her about the basics of using the Internet, like which search engines to use, which websites to go to, how to stream on YouTube, etc.

Growing Trend

Sometimes I check my Facebook while in the middle of our “research” while we were waiting for the page to load. She would peek at the page and ask me different things about Facebook. I asked her once whether she’d like me to make her one, too. I expected she’d say yes after showing her the pages of her colleagues and friends and some of my aunts and uncles. What stunned me is her reply to this: “I don’t want to be like the rest of them, “ayokong makigaya sa uso”, I’m unique.”

There have been many others who think this way. Adults seen on Facebook and other social networking sites (I know some who have Twitter too!) are not to be looked down on, instead I admire them for being able to adapt to the current situation of that modern technology has brought upon us. Learning how to use the new social media makes us able to adapt to this changing world. It’s not just about the “uso” or being part of the growing trend on Facebook, it’s about being able to use the resources that are readily available.

Perks

I have tried reasoning with my mom about the advantages of knowing how to use Facebook and other types of NSM. She’s still learning, so I don’t expect that she’d understand that it’s a basic need now for all people 🙂

1. Practicality

Because everyone you know and the friends of your friends’ friends are already on Facebook, why shouldn’t you? It’s much easier to communicate, it’s much more effortless to form or join a network that you share common interests with. You don’t have to spend too much to be able to maintain a personal relationship with family and relatives on the other side of the world. You can also create and maintain good working relationships with other professionals or colleagues. This is not just about being “in”, it’s practicable.

2. Convenience

It’s already there, and everyone’s already there. Why not use what has been given to you for free? We use what is readily available. We no longer need to tire our fingers with writing letters and spend some money to send it to long distances. We no longer need to spend a few bucks to call someone overseas. Life is made much easier because the world has been placed in our fingers, and with just one click of a button we make the world revolve around us.

3. Adaptability to change

Pretty soon, there will be a need for all people to be with NSM. Just like with cellular phones, it will be a need for all people for communication and research and business. But we need not get too much attached with the new social media. We use it but we can control it, not be controlled by it.

It’s never too late to start living in the future, so don’t get stuck in the past.

We change. We adapt. We become better. We survive. We learn new tricks. We use Facebook. 🙂

This entry was posted in Blogs, Facebook, Internet and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A New Trick

  1. xydc says:

    I remember having a similar post on “more mature” people (like our parents :D) learning how to use the Internet. While my post is somewhat negative about this topic, I like that you are able to see the positive side of it. True enough, those who are able to adapt to change will survive. It may be awkward to see our parents liking our status, but I know that we will get used to it. We will get so used to it that senior citizens in the future will consider the Internet as their pastime instead of knitting and solving crossword puzzles. 🙂

  2. mydigitalcommpass says:

    Sige na nga. I’d have to agree! 🙂

    I knoooooow. After immersing myself in social media marketing*, i had to face my fears. Haha. You get my point, right? 🙂

    Never thought that social media is soooooo complicated. Thanks to Sir Barry’s 152, it would make you enjoy the whole idea of NSM. 🙂

    *work-related

  3. You’re the only person I know who, I guess, is comfortable with her parents being on Facebook. Some would not dare to talk about it with their parents.
    I agree, it’s best if we try to learn new things, like NSM. Even though we already have our own ways of doing things, it doesn’t hurt to try something new and something more efficient. 🙂

Leave a Reply

