HEADACHE!

HEADACHE!

Modernity has definitely had a grave effect on our lives.  Human life has become easier and more difficult at the same time. Ironic? Tell me about it. With the advances of today’s age, everything is so fast-paced and at must come at bullet speed – probably even lightning speed at times. Eating is done much faster and getting food is definitely faster thanks to all the fast food joints out there. Reaching another person to communicate is faster. Contacting somebody is done more quickly than ever – a single push of a button is all it takes to reach somebody from the other side of the world. Getting news and research from the medical and academic community also happens very swiftly now. Everything is done in a flash. Today, life is lived in a hurry, done so in a hurry, and is finished in a hurry at the end of each day.

And with this fast-paced life that we’re living, it’s inevitable that we get stressed from it. We have to keep up with the hasty commotion of everyday living, and what do we get? Headaches. Lots and lots of it.

Merle Diamond, a physician at the Diamond Headache Clinic in Chicago acknowledges that, “Today, everything’s sort of action-packed. Kids are overscheduled, we’re overscheduled … I do think non-stop life plays a role (in giving us headaches).” (I got this from a Yahoo! article entitled “What a Headache! Why Modern Life Hurts So Much”, retrieved from http://news.yahoo.com/s/livescience/20100716/sc_livescience/whataheadachewhymodernlifehurtssomuch.)

The doctors believe that the kind of lifestyle that we’re living contributes to majorly to the headaches and migraines and other discomforts of the body and mind that we experience every single day.

I'm a little stressed...YEAH.

But where do these headaches come from?

  1. Stress

Because of the fast pacing of modern life, we try to keep up by living fast. This adds to the stress that we normally get from our work, assignments/studies, org responsibilities, household tasks, errands, and every day jobs. We tend to get more stressed when we hurry. I’m not sure why, but it has always felt like I have to run after something, or that something is running after me. Yeah, that’s stress alright.

headache 😦

  1. Glued to the Screen

Let’s admit it. We cannot work without a computer. We cannot function without our mobile phones. Our workplaces are filled with dynamic displays of technology. Advertisements, tv commercials, shows, whatever – it’s all there, tempting you and teasing you while you’re busy with work.

  1. Additional Work

More resources at hand, more work. More access to technology, more work. It’s just work, work, WORK! Stress!

  1. Non-stop Responsibilities

Do I even need to expound on this? S-T-R-E-S-S, oh no. 😦

  1. Annoying Clients

Let’s face it. It’s true: the easier it is to communicate, the easier it is for our clients to bug us about our work. Ha-ha. From my experience, clients get more and more annoying with every call they make or every update they ask of us. Because of the fast pace of life, they expect that when they request for a job, it will be done immediately, and delivered at the speed of light. They can contact us more easily now because of the modernity of technology, and in turn, they can pin our heads down more easily, too.

Let me remind you of the central theme of this entry: Headaches. Lots and lots of it.

I beg the question now, Why do we need to live fast? Answer? Because we will be left behind if we do not run with the flow. Why is life always a rush? Because we’re all in such a hurry to get to the end. So what is the end, exactly? Do I even need to reiterate? HEADACHES. Headaches at the end of each day.

Aarrgh. Biogesic, please, dear John Lloyd.

LESSON? Learn to live life not in a hurried way. Let us remember to live our lives by taking one step at a time and enjoying every second of it. We only have one shot at life, do we not? Take things slowly. We’d never know when the time would just pass us by, and we’d have nothing left but the end in our hands. Though it is true that we must keep up with the fast pace of the 21st century, we must not forget that we need to take the time to live – to actually live.

Quick fix for a fast-paced lifestyle? TAKE IT SLOW.

Ingat! 🙂

Live life. Take in the moment. Enjoy every second of it. INGAT!

This entry was posted in Blogs, Internet, Stress and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to HEADACHE!

  1. xydc says:

    Do you also wish that we have 48 hours in a day? Do you also wish for time to stop? I believe we all are. Haha! I cannot imagine how I am able to squeeze all my things-to-do in a day — without the chores and leisure, of course. I’m just really thankful that I survive each day completing all these school requirement. Stress is a word that does not have an effect on me anymore. I’m numb of it. It’s because I’m stressed everyday. 🙂 Stress also come from personal problems, which add to the pile of thoughts lingering in my head everyday. The last part of your post is exactly what I need to do. For that, I thank you! 🙂 I’m glad I read your post! 🙂

  2. xydc says:

    oops! *school requirementS… haha! 🙂

  3. xydc says:

    and “comeS”. OH DEAR, I AM SO STRESSED! :))

  4. Gel says:

    I notice that whenever I go online, I feel more stressed. Haha. Maybe it’s because of information overload. I tried living without the Net and I felt I had less obligations, less stuff to read. Though I don’t have as much information as when I was always online, I stay more focused on the more important things. 🙂

  5. Karen says:

    My, oh my, I wish we could really take it slow. Haha! Maybe we should follow Prof Adeva’s advice, “Take your time, but do not take too much time.” It’s all about timing, after all. 😉

  6. I guess this is one of the downsides of new technology. It made life easier but it also gave us no reason to excuse ourselves from doing our work right away. The problem is that sometimes, other people expect the job to be done faster than the time it could actually be done.

  7. Hi Jeca 🙂
    True, stress can really be stressful at times. Stress can be a major problem especially for those who can’t handle today’s fast-paced lifestyle. But just like any other problems, it is not a problem if it doesn’t have a solution. I think balance is the key in order for us to manage all the work and information around us. 🙂

  8. Rhea Lorenzo says:

    As I write this comment, I can tell you that I am stressed. 😀
    I can say that yes, headaches and a lot of stress can result from a fast-paced life and oftentimes, it can manifest online. I think one of the reasons why this kind of lifestyle has contributed to our increased stress levels is because with all the things that are happening so fast, we sometimes get overwhelmed to the point that what we think about is just how stressed we are. We sometimes forget the reasons why we are stressed because primarily, we lost track of it. I agree that taking it one step at a time would help. And of course, we must not forget to take a breather sometimes. 😀

  9. Credits to wordpress, my comment (which I made last month) for this post is missing. Good thing I can still remember parts of it. Haha. Well it is really hard to not keep up with the fast pace of living today. I could think of many reasons why but I believe that if we take it slow others will get mad at us because some work that needs to be finished depends on us and vice versa. Also, work will pile up if all of a sudden we exclude ourselves from the cyber world (considering that almost of our work are done using the computer and the internet). I say that we try to balance or at least manage our time to give us enough break from that glaring screen. 😛

Leave a Reply

